Gulf Stream Under the Iceberg

Golfa straume zem ledus kalna
Director: Yevgeny Pashkevich

Latvia, Russia, Drama, 2011, 120 min, latvian and russian with english and lithuanian subtitles, T
Adam’s first wife Lilith is mentioned in the ancient Oriental legends, in Talmud and in the medieval books of Cabala. According to these sources, she was not created from Adam's rib like Eve but from clay like he himself. Nevertheless Lilith was not recognised by Adam as his equal and left him after a quarrel heading for Babylon. She has no soul, and she is immortal. Lilith assumes different names, can change her appearance, and takes possession of men against their will. Once it's accomplished, she leaves her victims forever, marking them for either spiritual, or physical death. Whatever she does it is neither Good nor Evil. She is made of an altogether different matter. Inspired by the works of French writer Anatole France, Yevgeny Pashkevich‘s “Gulf Stream Under the Iceberg” consists of three dramatically interwoven stories with the immortal Lilith stalking through time and space with her demonic mission.
2011 – Best Director and Best Film awards at the Latvian Film Festival “Lielais Kristaps” (Latvia).
About the director:
Yevgeny Pashkevich was born in 1948 in Daugavpils, Latvia. He graduated from State Institute of Cinematography (VGIK) (Moscow, Russia), directing department, in 1978. Since 1969 worked at Riga Film Studio (Latvia). In 2000 founded film production company “Nida Filma”. He is a scriptwriter for 11 fiction and documentary films, director of 2 fiction and 36 documentary films. His debut fiction feature “The Days of a Man” (Dni cheloveka, 1989) was screened on the official programme of the Berlin International Film Festival (Germany) Panorama section and other major film festivals with considerable success. “Gulf Stream Under the Iceberg” is his second feature.
Section: Wide Angle

Screenplay: Yevgeny Pashkevich

Dir. of Photography: Gints Berzins, Valery Martinov

Music: Pavel Karmanov

Cast: Ville Haapasalo, Igor Chernevich, Yuriy Tsurilo, Danila Kozlovsky, Anna Azarova, Natalia Chalaya, Aleksey Serebryakov, Kseniya Rappaport, Elena Morozova